Scroll untuk baca artikel

BREAKING: INEC officially declares Uzodinma winner of Imo governorship election


BREAKING: INEC officially declares Uzodinma winner of Imo governorship election

Share this article

In a significant political development, Governor Hope Uzodimma of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has been declared the winner of Imo State’s governorship election by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

The State Returning Officer, Prof Abayomi Fasina, announced the victory on Sunday morning, with Governor Uzodimma securing a substantial 540,308 votes.

The election, which featured candidates from eighteen parties, saw Governor Uzodimma dominating in all 27 local government areas of the state. The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate, Samuel Anyanwu, trailed behind with 71,503 votes, while the Labour Party’s Athan Achonu secured the third position with 64,081 votes.

The collation of results commenced at 2 a.m. on Sunday in Owerri, the state capital. However, the process was not without controversy. The Labour Party’s state agent, Callistus Ihejiagwa, was reportedly assaulted and ejected from the coalition center for objecting to the announced results. In the aftermath, the PDP’s state agent, Kissinger Ikeokwu, also left the venue.

Adding to the drama, both the PDP and Labour Party candidates called for the cancellation of the election, alleging rigging by the APC, with purported support from INEC and security agents. These claims underscore the heightened tensions surrounding the electoral process.

Governor Uzodimma’s resounding victory, winning in all local government areas, consolidates his position as the leader of Imo State.

The aftermath of the election promises to be a dynamic period, with potential legal challenges and further reactions from opposing parties.